Day 27 – Is Friendship With Conditions Still Friendship?

Standard

As with everyone else, I have met many different people in my life. Most of them have been nothing more than acquaintances. They come, they go, and I am left with nothing more than memories of someone that I once knew. But what qualifies a person as being more than an acquaintance? How does one become a friend? A close friend? A best friend? The answer could be relative to the person or the situation.

Inconsistencies in friendship personally make me uncomfortable. It makes it seem like friendships have conditions. A person is only allowed so much complaining until they are no longer a friend. I can only be there for you if I feel comfortable being there for you. You are my friend and I love you, but if I have a boyfriend, he will always come first. There always seems to be these unspoken rules, and a lot of the time, they have been reasons for past friendships ending. Getting rid of toxic people is one thing, and I’m not afraid to admit that I’ve been that toxic person that had to be dropped. Yet at other times, these conditions felt like they existed, and they usually become the beginning of the end.

I’m not even close to thinking of myself as an expert on friendships or any type of interpersonal relationships. I can admit to having been a shitty friend in the past. My communication skills are less than acceptable. I’ve been unsupportive of situations I haven’t agreed with. I fly off the handle if I feel like I’m being abandoned. But I still consider myself to be a selfless friend. I’m a person that can be called at 2 am to drive 3 hours to get someone that needs me. I’m usually a person who is open-minded to most ideas, and unless it was something I felt strongly about, I wouldn’t judge. If a friend was very much like me in the fact that they were pessimistic, always complained, always felt like a victim; as difficult as it would be, I would stay strong and supportive for them. Why? Because to me, friendship is a specific type of love, and love is unconditional.

One thought on “Day 27 – Is Friendship With Conditions Still Friendship?

  1. I think you and I are very similar. I can be a very intense friend… but once I figured that out I also discovered that if I spread my friendship intensity over several people (instead of one best friend) I tend to do a better job of making others feel at ease, while still being loyal. Good luck!

Leave a comment